Voice Cast Announced for Justice League: Doom

Last week it was announced that the next feature-length animated DC Universe film would be titled Justice League: Doom and would debut its trailer at the upcoming New York Comic-Con. Today, Warner Home Video has announced the voice cast for the title coming in early 2012.

Nathan Fillion and Tim Daly, the reigning voices of Green Lantern and Superman, respectively, join a group of actors reprising their famed cartoon roles in Justice League: Doom.

Justice League: Doom finds Superman, Wonder Woman, Flash, Green Lantern, Martian Manhunter, Cyborg and Batman on their heels when a team of super villains discover and implement the Dark Knight’s “contingency plans” for stopping any rogue Justice League member. The story is inspired by Mark Waid’s much-heralded “JLA: Tower of Babel.”

Fillion, the star of ABC’s hit TV drama “Castle,” made his debut as Green Lantern/Hal Jordan in the recent Green Lantern: Emerald Knights. Fillion made his initial DCU bow as the voice of Steve Trevor in the 2008 hit Wonder Woman.

Currently headlining the cast of ABC’s popular “Private Practice,” Daly originated the title character’s voice in the landmark cartoon, “Superman: The Animated Series.” He has reprised the role in two DCU films: the 2009 extravaganza Superman/Batman: Public Enemies and the 2010 thriller Superman/Batman: Apocalypse.

In addition to current primetime stars Fillion and Daly, the cast is a grand reunion of the original group of actors who provided the voices of the Justice League for the cartoon of the same name and its follow-up, “Justice League Unlimited.” Reprising their roles are Kevin Conroy (“Batman: The Animated Series”) as Batman, Michael Rosenbaum (“Smallville,” “Breaking In”) as Flash, Susan Eisenberg (Superman/Batman: Apocalypse) as Wonder Woman and Carl Lumbly (“Alias”) as J’onn J’onzz/Martian Manhunter. Bumper Robinson (“A Different World,” “Transformers: Animated”) joins the cast as Cyborg.

The Justice League faces two sets of villainous teams in the film – The Royal Flush Gang and a sextet of notable evildoers. The latter group includes three voice acting alumni of the “Justice League” animated series: Phil Morris (“Smallville,” “Seinfeld”) as Vandal Savage, Olivia d’Abo (“The Wonder Years”) as Star Sapphire, and Alexis Denisof (“Angel”) as Mirror Master. Also opposing our heroes are Carlos Alazraqui (“Reno 911”) as Bane, Paul Blackthorne (“The Dresden Files”) as Metallo, and Claudia Black (“Farscape,” “Stargate SG-1”) as Cheetah.

David Kaufman (“Danny Phantom”) also reprises his Justice League role of Jimmy Olsen.

The film is executive produced by Bruce Timm (Batman: Year One), and directed by Lauren Montgomery (Batman: Year One), who is also credited as producer alongside Alan Burnett (“Batman: The Animated Series”). Justice League: Doom is the final script from the late Dwayne McDuffie (All-Star Superman, Justice League: Crisis on Two Earths). Casting and dialogue direction is once again in the capable hands of Andrea Romano (Batman: Year One, “SpongeBob SquarePants”).

Two images from Justice League: Doom can be found below.