Star Wars: The Force Awakens Passes Titanic at the Domestic Box Office

Star Wars: The Force Awakens passes Titanic to become the #2 movie domestically

Star Wars: The Force Awakens earned an estimated $34.5 million domestically (the highest New Year’s Day domestic gross ever, passing Avatar‘s $25.3 million) and $25 million internationally on Friday for a total of $59.5 million for the day. The Lucasfilm release has now earned $686.4 million in North America and $704.2 million overseas for a worldwide total of $1.390 billion.

Domestically, Star Wars: The Force Awakens is now the #1 movie of 2015 (passing Jurassic World ($652.3 million) and the #2 movie of all-time (passing Jurassic World ($652.3 million) and Titanic ($658.7 million). Internationally, Star Wars: The Force Awakens is already the #5 movie of 2015. Globally, Star Wars: The Force Awakens is the #4 movie of 2015 and is now the #7 movie of all-time (passing Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2). Today, it will pass Avengers: Age of Ultron ($1,405 million) to claim the #3 movie of 2015 and #6 movie of all-time spots.

The international totals to date by territory:

United Kingdom $133.5M

Germany $73.9M

France $61.4M

Australia $47.1M

Japan $46.1M

Spain $24.7M

Italy $23.3M

Mexico $23.1M

Korea $21.8M

Russia $20.3M

Brazil $19.1M

Sweden $13.8M

Poland $11.6M

Netherlands $10.2M

Other $174.3M

Total $704.2M

The film will open in China on January 9.

Directed by J.J. Abrams, the movie stars Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew and Max Von Sydow. Kathleen Kennedy, J.J. Abrams and Bryan Burk produced the film with Tommy Harper and Jason McGatlin serving as executive producers. The screenplay is by Lawrence Kasdan & J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt.