Westworld Season 2: First Details on Shogun World Revealed!

Earlier this year, the Delos Corporation website for HBO’s Westworld was updated to tease that in addition to their cowboy-themed park, there are actually five more parks that people can attend in the series. The season one finale revealed that one was themed after Samurais, and now we know that the other park is officially titled Shogun World!

RELATED: Watch the Official Westworld Season 2 Trailer!

The Delos website has been updated with an official description of the park, which reads: “For those for whom Westworld is not enough, the true connoisseur of gore can indulge their fantasies with the slash of a katana. Modeled after Japan’s Edo period, Shogun World offers a chance for guests to embrace their inner warrior, in a landscape of highest beauty and darkest horror. Let your true self take shape in the land where self-discovery is an art form.”

We know that Shogun World will factor into Westworld Season 2 quite a bit since it’s featured in the official trailer for the new episodes with frequency. In addition, Pacific Rim star Rinko Kikuchi has joined the cast in a role specifically tied to Shogun World.

Based on the film written by best-selling author Michael Crichton (ERJurassic Park films), Westworld is a dark odyssey about the dawn of artificial consciousness and evolution of sin. Set at the intersection of the near future and a reimagined past, the series explores a world in which every human appetite, no matter how noble or depraved, can be indulged.

Westworld: Season One featured a star-studded cast led by Academy Award winner Sir Anthony Hopkins (Silence of the Lambs), Golden Globe winner Ed Harris (The Truman Show), Golden Globe and Emmy nominee Evan Rachel Wood (The Wrestler) and Golden Globe nominee Thandie Newton (Crash). The cast of this 10-episode phenomenon also includes Jeffrey Wright, James Marsden, Ben Barnes, Ingrid Bolsø Berdal, Clifton Collins, Jr., Luke Hemsworth, Sidse Babett Knudsen, Simon Quarterman, Rodrigo Santoro, Angela Sarafyan, Jimmi Simpson, Tessa Thompson and Shannon Woodward. Executive produced by Abrams, Nolan, Joy, Jerry Weintraub and Bryan Burk, Westworld is produced by Kilter Films in association with Bad Robot Productions and Warner Bros. Television.

The ten-episode second season premieres Sunday, April 22 on HBO.