Star Wars: The Force Awakens Crosses $1.5 Billion in 19 Days

Star Wars: The Force Awakens crossed $1.5 billion in 19 days

Star Wars: The Force Awakens crossed the $1.5 billion mark globally this weekend after just 19 days in release! This weekend, Star Wars: The Force Awakens added an estimated $184.6 million globally, including the highest domestic third weekend ever with $88.3 million. Internationally, the film added $96.3 million. The domestic total is now $740.3 million (it’s the fastest to reach the $700 million mark in 16 days vs. Avatar in 72 days) and international total is now $770.5 million. It now stands as the #6 movie of all-time globally with $1.510 billion, passing Avengers: Age of Ultron ($1.405 billion), and will soon pass both Furious 7 ($1.515 billion) and Marvel’s The Avengers ($1.519 billion) to take the #4 global spot. Domestically, it is en route to becoming the highest-grossing movie of all-time.

With this weekend, the IMAX global box office now totals $152 million, making it IMAX’s second highest-grossing title ever; and in record-setting time: 19 days (without the benefit of a China release) vs. Avatar, which reached $150 million in 47 days (including a China release). The current per-screen average for an IMAX screen is a stunning $226,000 and counting.

Domestically, Star Wars: The Force Awakens is the #1 movie of 2015 (passing Jurassic World‘s $652.3 million) and the #2 movie of all-time (soon to surpass Avatar‘s $760.5 million). Internationally, Star Wars: The Force Awakens is the #5 movie of 2015. On Friday, the film set a new record for highest New Year’s Day gross with an estimated $34.5 million, surpassing Avatar‘s $25.3 million from January 1, 2010. 

Here are the international totals to date by territory:

UK $145.0M

Germany $81.4M

France $67.1M

Japan $52.9M

Australia $50.7M

Spain $27.4M

Italy $24.9M

Mexico $24.5M

Korea $23.1M

Russia $22.9M

Brazil $21.2M

Other $229.4M

Total $770.5M

The film will open in China on January 9.

Directed by J.J. Abrams, the movie stars Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew and Max Von Sydow. Kathleen Kennedy, J.J. Abrams and Bryan Burk produced the film with Tommy Harper and Jason McGatlin serving as executive producers. The screenplay is by Lawrence Kasdan & J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt.