Star Wars: The Force Awakens Box Office Surpasses Jurassic World Globally

With final numbers now in, Star Wars: The Force Awakens rose above estimates to post an all-time industry-high of $247,966,675 domestically and $281 million internationally for an all-time record global debut of $529 million since opening day-and-date December 16. This excludes any grosses from China, where the film opens Jan. 9, as well as Greece and India, where it opens this week.

Domestically, Disney now holds four of the top five debuts of all time. In addition to posting the biggest Thursday preview gross ($57 million) and the biggest Friday and single-day ever ($119.1 million), Star Wars: The Force Awakens set a new Sunday record of $60.5 million. Internationally, it was the biggest opening weekend ever in numerous territories including the UK (4-day), Australia, Russia, and Germany.

The galactic debut of Star Wars: The Force Awakens has pushed The Walt Disney Studios to its highest year on record. Today, Disney will cross the $5 billion mark in global box office in a calendar year for the first time ever, surpassing the previous full-year record of $4.73 billion set in 2013. The studio has also reached new highs domestically with $1.851 billion and internationally with $3.134 billion through December 20. (The previous best for each was also set in 2013 with $1.719 billion domestic and $3.013 billion international.)

Star Wars: The Force Awakens‘ international performance to date:

UK $50.6M

Germany $27.5M

France $22.5M

Australia $19.6M

Japan $13.4M

Russia $12.3M

Mexico $11.4M

Italy $9.4M

Spain $9.3M

Brazil $8.3M

Korea $8.0M

Sweden $6.7M

Other $82.0M

Total $281.0M

With Star Wars: The Force Awakens beating both Jurassic World‘s domestic ($208.8 million) and worldwide ($525 million) debuts, Universal Pictures, Steven Spielberg, Frank Marshall and Colin Trevorrow shared the following congratulatory image:

Directed by J.J. Abrams, the movie stars Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew and Max Von Sydow. Kathleen Kennedy, J.J. Abrams and Bryan Burk produced the film with Tommy Harper and Jason McGatlin serving as executive producers. The screenplay is by Lawrence Kasdan & J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt.