Disney Sets Its Marvel and Star Wars 2021 Release Schedule

Despite the ongoing pandemic, Disney hasn’t decided to follow Warner Bros. example and bring all of its 2021 movies to Disney+. Regardless, Disney+ is going to be flush with Marvel and Star Wars content for the next 12 months. Additionally, Disney has officially unveiled its release slate from Marvel Studios and Lucasfilm.

WANDAVISION – January 15, 2021 (Marvel Studios / Disney+)

Marvel Studios presents “WandaVision,” a blend of classic television and the Marvel Cinematic Universe in which Wanda Maximoff (Elizabeth Olsen) and Vision (Paul Bettany) — two super-powered beings living idealized suburban lives — begin to suspect that everything is not as it seems. The series is directed by Matt Shakman with Jac Schaeffer as head writer.

RELATED: Watch WandaVision’s New TV Teaser

THE FALCON AND THE WINTER SOLDIER – March 19, 2021 (Marvel Studios / Disney+)

Marvel Studios’ “The Falcon and The Winter Soldier” stars Anthony Mackie as Sam Wilson aka The Falcon, and Sebastian Stan as Bucky Barnes aka The Winter Soldier. The pair, who came together in the final moments of “Avengers: Endgame,” team up on a global adventure that tests their abilities—and their patience. Directed by Kari Skogland with Malcolm Spellman serving as head writer, the six-episode series also stars Daniel Brühl as Baron Zemo, Emily VanCamp as Sharon Carter, and Wyatt Russell as John Walker.

RELATED: Florence Pugh To Carry On Black Widow’s Legacy

BLACK WIDOW – May 7, 2021 (Marvel Studios / Theatrical)

In Marvel Studios’ action-packed spy thriller “Black Widow,” Natasha Romanoff aka Black Widow confronts the darker parts of her ledger when a dangerous conspiracy with ties to her past arises. Pursued by a force that will stop at nothing to bring her down, Natasha must deal with her history as a spy and the broken relationships left in her wake long before she became an Avenger.

Scarlett Johansson reprises her role as Natasha/Black Widow. Florence Pugh also stars as Yelena, David Harbour portrays Alexei/The Red Guardian, and Rachel Weisz is Melina. Directed by Cate Shortland and produced by Kevin Feige, “Black Widow” — the first film in Phase Four of the Marvel Cinematic Universe — hits U.S. theaters on May 7, 2021.

RELATED: Watch the First Trailer For Loki

LOKI – May 2021 (Marvel Studios / Disney+)

Marvel Studios’ “Loki” is set to debut on Disney+ in May 2021. It features the God of Mischief as he steps out of his brother’s shadow in a new series that also takes place after “Avengers: Endgame.” Tom Hiddleston returns as the title character, joined by Owen Wilson, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Sophia Di Martino, Wunmi Mosaku and Richard E. Grant. Kate Herron directs “Loki,” and Michael Waldron is head writer.

SHANG-CHI AND THE LEGEND OF THE TEN RINGS – July 9, 2021 (Marvel Studios / Theatrical)

Marvel Studios’ “Shang-Chi and The Legend of The Ten Rings” stars Simu Liu as Shang-Chi, who must confront the past he thought he left behind when he is drawn into the web of the mysterious Ten Rings organization. The film also stars Tony Leung as Wenwu, Awkwafina as Shang-Chi’s friend Katy and Michelle Yeoh as Jiang Nan, as well as Fala Chen, Meng’er Zhang, Florian Munteanu and Ronny Chieng.

The film was directed by Destin Daniel Cretton from a screenplay written by David Callaham, Cretton and Andrew Lanham. Kevin Feige and Jonathan Schwartz produced the film. Louis D’Esposito, Victoria Alonso, and Charles Newirth were also executive producers.

RELATED: Simu Liu Announces That Shang-Chi Has Wrapped Production

ETERNALS – November 5, 2021 (Marvel Studios / Theatrical)

Directed by Chloé Zhao, Marvel Studios’ “Eternals” welcomes an exciting new team of Super Heroes to the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The epic story, spanning thousands of years, features a group of immortal heroes forced out of the shadows to reunite against mankind’s oldest enemy, The Deviants.

The outstanding ensemble cast includes Richard Madden as the all-powerful Ikaris, Gemma Chan as humankind-loving Sersi, Kumail Nanjiani as cosmic-powered Kingo, Lauren Ridloff as the super-fast Makkari, Brian Tyree Henry as the intelligent inventor Phastos, Salma Hayek as the wise and spiritual leader Ajak, Lia McHugh as the eternally young, old-soul Sprite, Don Lee as the powerful Gilgamesh, Barry Keoghan as aloof loner Druig, and Angelina Jolie as the fierce warrior Thena. Kit Harington plays Dane Whitman.

RELATED: The Ms. Marvel Sizzle Reel Has Arrived

However, two of Marvel’s remaining Disney+ originals don’t have date yet. But that doesn’t mean that they won’t also arrive in 2021.

MS. MARVEL– Late 2021 (Marvel Studios / Disney+)

“Ms. Marvel,” launching on Disney+ in late 2021, is a new series that introduces Kamala Khan (Iman Vellani)—a 16-year-old Pakistani-American growing up in Jersey City. A great student, an avid gamer and a voracious fan-fiction scribe, she has a special affinity for superheroes, particularly Captain Marvel. But Kamala struggles to fit in at home and at school—that is, until she gets super powers like the heroes she’s always looked up to. Life is easier with super powers, right?

The cast also includes Aramis Knight, Saagar Shaikh, Rish Shah, Zenobia Shroff, Mohan Kapur, Matt Lintz, Yasmeen Fletcher, Laith Naki, Azher Usman, Travina Springer and Nimra Bucha. Episodes are directed by Adil El Arbi & Bilall Fallah, Meera Menon and Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy.

HAWKEYE – Late 2021 (Marvel Studios / Disney+)

Marvel Studios’ “Hawkeye” stars Jeremy Renner as Hawkeye. [And he will team up] with another archer from the Marvel comics, Kate Bishop, played by Hailee Steinfeld. The cast also includes Vera Farmiga, Fra Fee, Tony Dalton, Zahn McClarnon, and Brian d’Arcy James. Newcomer Alaqua Cox plays Maya Lopez. “Hawkeye” is helmed by Rhys Thomas and directing duo Bert and Bertie.

RELATED: Hailee Steinfeld Talks ‘Kickass’ Kate Bishop

Finally, the Star Wars/Lucasfilm slate is pretty thin for 2021. Noticeably absent is the third season of The Mandalorian. Presumably that means The Mandalorian season 3 won’t arrive until 2022. However, fans still have two new shows to look forward to.

THE BOOK OF BOBA FETT – December 2021 (Lucasfilm / Disney+)

Boba Fett’s journey will continue in “The Book of Boba Fett,” which will star Temuera Morrison. Ming-Na Wen also stars as Fennec Shand. Robert Rodriguez also joins Jon Favreau and Dave Filoni as executive producer.

RELATED: The Book of Boba Fett Confirmed as a Spinoff Series

STAR WARS: THE BAD BATCH – 2021 (Lucasfilm /Disney+)

“Star Wars: The Bad Batch” follows the elite and experimental clones of the Bad Batch (first introduced in “The Clone Wars”) as they find their way in a rapidly changing galaxy in the immediate aftermath of the Clone War. Members of Bad Batch each possess a singular exceptional skill that makes them extraordinarily effective soldiers and a formidable crew. They will take on daring mercenary missions as they struggle to stay afloat and find new purpose.

Marvel Studios is also planning some kind of musical event for New Year’s Eve. However, it appears to be geared towards the Chinese audience.

What do you think about Disney’s Marvel and Star Wars 2021 release slate? Let us know in the comment section below!

Recommended Reading: Shang-Chi: Master of Kung-Fu Omnibus Vol. 2

We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. This affiliate advertising program also provides a means to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.