HBO Submits Game of Thrones Finale for Best Writing Emmy

HBO Submits Game of Thrones Finale for Best Writing Emmy

As we proceed towards the official announcement of the 2019 Emmy nominations, which will take place on July 16, the ballots for each category have been announced. Surprisingly, HBO has submitted its epic drama Game of Thrones‘ finale “The Iron Throne” for several major categories, including the Outstanding Writing category, in which it is the only episode submitted. HBO’s choice is unexpected, given that the final episode was extremely divisive and it triggered the fans’ online backlash. Furthermore, that episode has become one of the show’s worst reviewed ever on the review-aggregation website Rotten Tomatoes.

HBO has submitted also three episodes from the final season on the ballot for Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series: “The Iron Throne,” directed by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss, “The Last of the Starks,” directed by David Nutter, and “The Long Night,” directed by Miguel Sapochnik.

RELATED – Game of Thrones Star Says Jaime Was Never Getting a Happy Ending

“The Iron Throne” will go head-to-head for the Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series award with several other shows we like. In the same category, Fear the Walking Dead has submitted multiple episodes, Marvel’s Iron Fist and American Gods have three each, DC Universe’s Doom Patrol has two, while the BBC have submitted just the “Rosa” episode from Doctor Who.

It’s worth noting that Game of Thrones has won the Outstanding Drama Series award for the past three years.

The nominations will be on announced on July 16 at 11:30 a.m. ET/8:30 a.m. PT. The Emmy Awards ceremony will take place on September 22 and it will be aired at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on Fox.

Do you agree with HBO’s choice to submit Game of Thrones finale for Best Writing Emmy? If not, which episode would you have submitted? Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below.