Jennifer Connelly Boards TNT’s Snowpiercer Series

Academy Award winner Jennifer Connelly is joining TNT’s Snowpiercer series

Turner’s TNT announced today the addition of Academy Award winner Jennifer Connelly (A Beautiful Mind) to the network’s upcoming Snowpiercer series. She joins Tony Award winner Daveed Diggs (Hamilton, Black-ish) in the futuristic thriller, set to be directed by Doctor Strange‘s Scott Derrickson and based on the acclaimed movie of the same name.

RELATED: CS Video: Ewan McGregor and His American Pastoral Cast

Set seven years after the world has become a frozen wasteland, the Snowpiercer series centers on the remnants of humanity, who inhabit a gigantic, perpetually moving train that circles the globe. Class warfare, social injustice and the politics of survival are questioned in this riveting television adaptation.

Connelly will play Melanie Cavill, a First Class passenger who works as the Voice of the Train – responsible for making the daily announcements over its PA system. Though many in her VIP position are dismissive of the lower class passengers, Melanie is curiously fascinated by them.

Connelly recently starred opposite Ewan McGregor in American Pastoral, which marked McGregor’s directorial debut, and in Shelter, written, directed and co-starring A Beautiful Mind‘s Paul Bettany, Connelly’s real life husband. She can soon be seen in the firefighter drama Granite Mountain, with Josh Brolin, Miles Teller and Jeff Bridges, and in the Robert Rodriguez directed, James Cameron produced manga adaptation Alita: Battle Angel, with Michelle Rodriguez, Mahershala Ali and Christoph Waltz.

The Snowpiercer series is a co-production of Tomorrow Studios and Turner’s Studio T, along with CJ Entertainment. The project is being executive-produced by writer-showrunner Josh Friedman (Avatar 4, Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles); director Scott Derrickson; Tomorrow Studios’ Marty Adelstein (Aquarius, Prison Break) and Becky Clements (Good Behavior, Aquarius); and the original film’s Bong Joon Ho, Park Chan-wook, Lee Tae-hun and Dooho Choi.

(Photo by Stephane Cardinale – Corbis/Corbis via Getty Images)