Oscar Shortlist for VFX Includes Avengers, Force Awakens & Jurassic World

Oscar shortlist for VFX includes Avengers, Force Awakens and Jurassic World

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today announced that 10 films remain in the running in the Visual Effects (VFX) category for the 88th Academy Awards. The films are listed below in alphabetical order:


Avengers: Age of Ultron

Ex Machina

Jurassic World

Mad Max: Fury Road

The Martian

The Revenant

Star Wars: The Force Awakens


The Walk

The Academy’s Visual Effects Branch Executive Committee determined the shortlist. All members of the Visual Effects Branch will now be invited to view 10-minute excerpts from each of the shortlisted films on Saturday, January 9, 2016. Following the screenings, the members will vote to nominate five films for final Oscar consideration.

The 88th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Thursday, January 14, 2016, at 5:30 a.m. PT at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

The 88th Oscars will be held on Sunday, February 28, 2016, at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood, and will be televised live by the ABC Television Network at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT. The Oscar presentation also will be televised live in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.