David Ayer’s Suicide Squad Cast Assembles!

As production nears, Warner Bros.’ Suicide Squad has pulled its cast together for a read-through. Although Jared Leto (The Joker) is noticeably absent, the above image, Tweeted by writer and director David Ayer, reveals a few surprise additions to the film’s ensemble cast such as Neighbors star Ike Barinholtz and Flags of Our Fathers’ Adam Beach. Click on the image above for a larger version!

Suicide Squad is set to star Will Smith as Deadshot, Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn, Jai Courtney as Captain Boomerang, Cara Delevingne as Enchantress, Joel Kinnaman as Rick Flag, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje as Killer Croc, Karen Fukuhara as Plastique and Viola Davis as Amanda Waller. The film will hit theaters on August 5, 2016.

Originally created by Robert Kanigher and Ross Andru back in 1959, the group was retooled into its current iteration as villains working off their sentence by John Ostrander. The team has included countless DC villains (and heroes) among its ranks throughout the years. It’s also been a staple of recent DC media. The CW’s hit series “Arrow” introduced their own version of the team in the most recent season of the series and the recent animated film, Batman: Assault on Arkham, offered another version of the team.

(Photo Credit: FayesVision / WENN.com)