Composer John Ottman to Score X-Men: Apocalypse

Film Music Reporter brings word that John Ottman has signed on to once again score and edit the upcoming X-Men: Apocalypse, having previously filled those positions on both X2: X-Men United and X-Men: Days of Future Past. Ottman has also scored both Fantastic Four films, Superman Returns, and The Losers. He also has a long history of working with Bryan Singer, which includes collaborating on all but one of the director’s films.

James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Jennifer Lawrence, and Nicholas Hoult will lead the cast of X-Men: Apocalypse, which will also see the return of Rose Byrne as Moira MacTaggert and Evan Peters as Quicksilver. Newcomers Alexandra Shipp, Sophie Turner, Kodi Smit-McPhee and Tye Sheridan will also join the cast as young versions of Storm, Jean Grey, Nightcrawler and Cyclops, along with Ben Hardy in a “significant” role. The film is being written by Simon Kinberg from a treatment by Mike Dougherty, Dan Harris and Kinberg.

Said to be the conclusion of a trilogy started with X-Men: First Class and continued with X-Men: Days of Future Past, cameras will start rolling on the next adventure in Montreal beginning in April. X-Men: Apocalypse is set for release on May 27, 2016.