Comics: DC Cancels Six Titles

DC Comics continues to offer now additions to their New 52 every few months and that can only happen when a few series meet the chopping block. CBR has confirmed with DC that Fury of the Firestorm, The Savage Hawkman, Deathstroke, Team 7, Sword of Sorcery, and The Ravagers will all come to an end. These series will run through May.

On a brighter note, The Huffington Post has confirmed two new additions to the New 52 line-up (taking the spots of I, Vampire and DC Universe Presents) and they are: The Green Team and The Movement.

The Movement will be written by Gail Simone with art by Freddie Williams III. Simone has this to say about the comic:

“The Movement is an idea I’ve had for some time. It’s a book about power — who owns it, who uses it, who suffers from its abuse. As we increasingly move to an age where information is currency, you get these situations where a single viral video can cost a previously unassailable corporation billions, or can upset the power balance of entire governments. And because the sources of that information are so dispersed and nameless, it’s nearly impossible to shut it all down.”

The Green Team (a long dead DC series originally created  Joe Simon and Jerry Grandenetti in 1975) will be co-written by Art Baltazar and Franco with Ig Guara serving as the artist. Baltazar explained the new take on the series as follows:

The real question is: Can money buy you anything in the DC universe? Would it make you powerful? Can it make you a hero? Can money make you…Super?”

These new series will debut in May. Check back here for more info on what new titles DC is adding to their line-up.

Click on the image for a bigger version!