Sound of Superman Official Press Release

We’ve mentioned the collection before, but here is the official press release from Rhino Records:

A collection of rising stars pays musical tribute to the red-caped American icon that is synonymous with “Truth, Justice and the American Way” on “SOUND OF SUPERMAN.” The compilation features covers and original songs that explore themes of heroism and name-drop the “Man of Steel,” who makes his highly anticipated return to the big screen in “Superman Returns,” opening nationwide on June 30th. “SOUND OF SUPERMAN” will be available from Rhino Records on May 23 at regular physical and digital retail outlets and at for a suggested list price of $13.99.

American Hi-Fi saves the day with “The Rescue,” the first single from “SOUND OF SUPERMAN” and an all-new studio track from the hard-rocking quartet. Before the album hits the streets, Los Angeles power trio Maxeen provides a sneak preview with “Save Me,” a pre-release available now exclusively through the iTunes Music Store.

Since the superhero’s debut in “Action Comics” #1 in 1938, Superman has become a pop culture icon familiar to generations. The man, the myth and the metaphor have all found their way into some great songs over the years. Chicago emo-punkers The Academy Is… suit up for “Superman,” which was originally recorded by garage rockers The Clique in 1969 — the track, with its iconic refrain of “I Am, I Am, I Am Superman,” was later revived by R.E.M. on the album “Lifes Rich Pageant.” Garage rockers The Films go back 30 years with their take on Donovan’s #1 1966 hit, “Sunshine Superman.” The Sun get the dance floor bumping with their frantic take on “(Wish I Could Fly Like) Superman,” originally recorded by The Kinks. A group of rookie rockers called Royal courts the dark side with its version of “Brainiac’s Daughter,” a song originally cut by XTC’s psychedelic side project Dukes of Stratosphear.

“SOUND OF SUPERMAN” also includes covers of more recent vintage with Paramore’s rousing acoustic version of Foo Fighters’ 1997 smash, “My Hero,” New York indie-pop quartet Nightmare Of You channeling their inner Flaming Lips on “Waitin’ For A Superman,” and the celebrated Boston quintet The Receiving End Of Sirens’ take on the Stereophonics’ “Superman.”

The album also contains original music from some fresh new faces in rock. Punk-infused indie rockers Motion City Soundtrack provide the guitar heroics with “The Worst Part…” while Jack’s Mannequin’s infectious piano pop is showcased on the new track “Meet Me At My Window.” Chicago’s Plain White T’s add the pulsing anthem “It’s So Easy” and South Dakota rockers The Spill Canvas come to the rescue with “Saved.”

The collection also features an original rocker from Sara Routh called “You’re Never Gone.” Sara is the sister of Brandon Routh, who dons the iconic red cape of the world’s best-known comic book hero in “Superman Returns.”


Track Listing

1. The Academy Is… “Superman” (The Clique/R.E.M. cover)

2. Plain White T’s “It’s So Easy” (original)

3. The Sun “(Wish I Could Fly Like) Superman” (The Kinks cover)

4. Motion City Soundtrack “The Worst Part…” (original)

5. The Films “Sunshine Superman” (Donovan cover)

6. Maxeen “Save Me” (original)

7. Paramore “My Hero” (Foo Fighters cover)

8. American Hi-Fi “The Rescue” (original)

9. The Spill Canvas “Saved” (original)

10. Jack’s Mannequin “Meet Me At My Window” (original)

11. Nightmare Of You “Waitin’ For A Superman” (The Flaming Lips cover)

12. The Receiving End Of Sirens “Superman” (Stereophonics cover)

13. Royal “Brainiac’s Daughter” (Dukes of Stratosphear cover)

14. Sara Routh “You’re Never Gone” (original)

Source: Rhino Records