Comic-Con: Marvel Reveals Plans for Star Wars Comics!

When it was announced that Disney was acquiring Lucasfilm way back in 2012, one of the first questions that came up was how this would affect the “Star Wars” comic books? The license has long sat at Dark Horse Comics, but it was revealed earlier this year that the license will return to Marvel, which published the first “Star Wars” comics in the 1970s. Now, at their Cup O’ Joe panel at San Diego Comic-Con, Marvel finally revealed their plans for the “Star Wars” license which includes three new titles.

The first new series is simply titled Star Wars and will be written by Jason Aaron and illustrated by John Cassaday. Focusing on the heroes from the original trilogy, the series will pick up after the events of the Battle of Yavin and debut in January of 2015.

The second ongoing series that will debut is Star Wars: Darth Vader, to be written by Kieron Gillen and drawn by Salvador Larroca. It will focus on the Dark Lord of the Sith’s efforts to recover his footing, prestige and favor with Emperor Palpatine and the Empire, in the aftermath of the Battle of Yavin. It will begin in February of 2015.

The final title is a five issue mini-series called Star Wars: Princess Leia, set to debut in March 2015. Written by Mark Waid and drawn by Terry Dodson the series will track Leia’s rise from Princess to rebel leader. 

Check out the cover art for the three titles below and sound off with your thoughts in the comments!