DC Comics to Relaunch All Titles

DC Comics issued some major news today for all of their DC Universe titles. Beginning on Wednesday, August 31st, 52 titles (the entire DCU lineup) will relaunch from issue one and every issue published from that point on will be available for digital purchase day and date with the printed issue.

Spearheading the relaunch is the debut of “Justice League” #1, bringing back core members to the superhero team, including Superman, Wonder Woman, Aquaman and Green Lantern. The series will be written by DC Entertainment Chief Creative Officer Geoff Johns and illustrated by DC Comics Co-Publisher Jim Lee.

As you can see in the first image from the series below (courtesy of USA Today), some of the iconic DC characters will feature newly-designed costumes. Superman appears to no longer feature red shorts and the “S” logo has undergone an overhaul, already launching some speculation that this might be closer to the look that fans will see in Zack Snyder’s Man of Steel.

At this time, however, there is no official word connecting the relaunch to any of the upcoming DC Comics film properties, though more information is expected soon. Check back soon for more on the story as it develops.